Moodle is a management system for face-to-face and distant teaching, primarily oriented on students and teachers interaction.

The name is an abbreviation and stands for Modular Object-Oriented Dynamic Learning Environment. Moodle is a free product with open source code with the free revision feature. It is popular all over the world, including Russia. Completely translated into Russian and has more than 1000 installations in our country.

All user`s work with Moodle is carried out through the web-portal. This is the only system interface, for connection to which it is enough to have any browser. To use Moodle, the user needs to log in the portal, but the system also has the guest access option that does not require user authorization. The portal design can be chosen from a huge number of already existing themes or developed from scratch.

As for functionality, the system has quite a wide range of features, for example, uniting learners into virtual groups, obtaining summary information about each student`s work, other reports, the course beginning and ending dates determination, calculation of certain tasks passing dates and of testing terms. The "Explanation" and "Forum" tools are available, with the help of which you can publish information about courses and news.

There is a large communication tools set - e-mail, attachment exchange with the teacher, forums (general news one on the main page and various private forums), chat, personal messages, blogs.

Together with the functionally rich test module, Moodle also provides an opportunity to evaluate the students` work in such course elements as "Task", "Forum", etc. And they can be evaluated according to the arbitrary scales, given by the teacher. You can set rating of Wiki articles, glossary or answers on the forum by other course participants. All ratings are available for viewing on the course ratings page, which can be flexibly set according to the display type and grouping.

Moodle provides ample opportunities for test creation and training and control test implementation. The tests support various question types: multiple choice, match, true / false, short answers, essays, etc. Moodle provides semi-automated features facilitating test processing. The system contains flexible tools for test results statistical analysis.

The program is cross-platform. Since it requires a Web server with PHP support and a separate DBMS, the requirements for operating system choice are determined by the requirements of Web server and DBMS chosen. Apache is usually used as a Web server, MySQL is used as a database. Nevertheless, Moodle supports other databases besides MySQL, for example, MariaDB, Postgres, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle. If necessary, the system has the ability to integrate with other software products.

The system code is completely open, so we can change and extend standard ssytem functionality, or to develop a unique module "from scratch" tailored to your individual requirements. We also support already implemented solutions based on the Moodle software platform.

See more information about the system on the official website of the Moodle project.

Moodle — это система управления обучением очной и дистанционной форм. Ориентирована прежде всего на взаимодействие учеников с преподавателями.

Название является аббревиатурой и расшифровывается как ModularObject-OrientedDynamicLearningEnvironment (модульная объектно-ориентированная динамическая обучающая среда). Moodle– бесплатный продукт с открытым программным кодом с возможностью свободной доработки. Популярен по всему миру, в том числе и в России. Полностью переведен на русский язык и имеет более 1000 инсталляций в нашей стране.

Вся работа пользователей с Moodle выполняется через web-портал. Это единственный интерфейс системы, для подключения к которому достаточно иметь любой браузер. Чтобы воспользоваться Moodle, пользователю необходимо авторизоваться на портале, но в системе остается также возможность настройки гостевого доступа, не требующего авторизации пользователя. Дизайн портала может быть подобран из огромного количества уже существующих тем либо разработан «с нуля».

С точки зрения функциональности система стандартно имеет довольно обширные возможности, например, объединение учащихся в виртуальные группы, получение сводной информации о работе каждого ученика, другие отчеты, определение дат начала и окончания курса, сдачи определенных заданий, сроков тестирования. Доступны инструменты «Пояснение» и «Форум», с помощью которых можно публиковать информацию о курсах и новостях.

Предусмотрен большой набор средств коммуникации – электронная почта, обмен вложенными файлами с преподавателем, форумы (общий новостной на главной странице и различные частные форумы), чат, личные сообщения, блоги.

Вместе с функционально богатым тестовым модулем Moodle также предоставляет возможность оценки работы обучающихся в таких элементах курса как «Задание», «Форум» и т.д. Причем оценивать можно по произвольным, заданным преподавателем, шкалам. Можно настроить оценку статей Wiki, глоссария или ответов на форуме другими участниками курса. Все оценки доступны для просмотра на странице оценок курса, которую можно гибко настроить по виду отображения и группировке.

Moodle имеет широкие возможности для создания тестов и проведения обучающих и контрольных тестирований. В тестах поддерживаются различные типы вопросов: множественный выбор, на соответствие, верно/неверно, короткие ответы, эссе и др. Moodle предоставляет полуавтоматические возможности, облегчающие обработку тестов. В системе присутствуют гибкие инструменты статистического анализа результатов тестирования.

Программа является кроссплатформенной. Так как для ее работы требуется Web-сервер с поддержкой PHP и отдельная СУБД, то требования к выбору операционной системы определяются требованиями к работе выбранных Web-сервера и СУБД. В качестве Web-сервера как правило используется Apache, а в качестве СУБД используется MySQL. Тем не менее Moodle поддерживает и другие СУБД помимо MySQL, например, MariaDB, Postgres, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle. При необходимости система имеет возможность интеграции с другими программными продуктами.

Код системы является полностью открытым, поэтому мы можем изменить и расширить стандартный функционал системы либо «с нуля» разработать уникальный модуль с учетом ваших индивидуальных требований. Также мы занимаемся поддержкой уже внедренных и использующихся решений на программной платформе Moodle.

Подробнее о системе можно прочитать на официальном сайте проекта Moodle.